FIVB Men’s World Championship Russia 2022 – Groups

The Official Pools Of The FIVB #Volleyball Men’s World Championship Russia 2022!

FIVB – Hosts VFR will open the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Russia 2022 against reigning African champions Tunisia on 26 August at Saint Petersburg Ice Palace, according to the results of the Drawing of Lots held in Moscow to determine the pools and venues of the first phase.

Alongside Tunisia, VFR will also face Serbia and Puerto Rico in Pool A which (other than the opening match) will be hosted in Moscow.

Reigning back-to-back world champions Poland (in 2014 and 2018), meanwhile, have been placed in Pool C, to be held in the city of Novosibirsk, where they will meet USA, Mexico and Bulgaria.

And world no. 1 Brazil are in Pool B at Kemerovo, up against Japan, Cuba and Qatar.

Legendary volleyball heroes Lyubov Sokolova, Ekaterina Gamova and Taras Khtey of Russia, alongside Vladimir Grbic of Serbia were all involved in determining the fate of the participating teams, as they drew the lots from the bowls.

Earlier, four-time Olympic medallist Sergei Tetyukhin and former captain of the Russian national team presented the trophy of the 2022 World Championship.

Watch the Drawing of Lots on demand, as it happened:

The 24 participating teams were drawn into six pools of four each for the preliminary phase of the competition.

The 2022 World Championship runs from 26 August to 11 September across a total of ten cities (Kazan, Kaliningrad and Yaroslavl joining in later rounds those already set to host the first phase).



Previous Story

La Selección Argentina masculina ya conoce a sus rivales para el Mundial 2022

Next Story

Argentina for export: la economía genera un éxodo de jugadores y jugadoras al vóleibol europeo

Latest from Otras Selecciones